Go Away Rain

I have just had my last adventure in Ireland. No, I am not done traveling, but I am done traveling throughout Ireland. I have been to Galway, Cork, the Cliffs of Moher, Killarney, Belfast, and of course Limerick. The one last place I needed to go is the capital of Dublin. Fortunately, the International Office gave us FlexiPacks that included a bus ticket, a meal voucher, and entrance to a few museums. Plus AIFS will reimburse us 50 euro for lodging; which means we were able to stay in a hotel instead of a hostel. Yay! Courtnee, Britney, Mal, and I left on Friday morning at 7am. We completely bypassed the city bus and called a taxi because we knew that the bus would not come on time. I have learned my lesson. The bus ride was 3 hours long and I slept the majority of the time, unless I was woken up by our driver who love to apply his brake like he was stomping on a bug. Very jerky. But we made it to Dublin at 11 where it was raining. According to Mal and the Weather Channel, it was going to be a nice day. According to me who happened to look at a legitimate, reputable weather website, there was a chance of rain all day. And it rained all day. We got off of the bus and were immediately wet. Or the other girls were. Thanks to Nicky who came to Ireland in the summer, I never leave the house without my raincoat or umbrella. And I brought both to Dublin so I was dry. We had the entire weekend planned out and we were on our way to our first destination when we decided to throw out our itinerary because no one wanted to be walking around with heavy backpacks getting drenched. So what do we do instead? We decide to eat at the BK Lounge and then hang out there for about an hour and a half, because it was not sprinkling but it was raining and windy. Not a good combo when you are sight-seeing outside. When the rain died down enough to walk outside and it was close enough to our check-in time at the hotel, we ventured outside and started walking to the hotel. On the way, we passed by a Disney store so of course we went inside which easily made my day. They had an entire room dedicated to the princesses. Uh, yes please! By this time, we were all tired and a little crabby (some more than others). The hotel was much nicer than any hostel I have stayed in. Mal and I shared a room that had a double bed and our own shower. Hallelujah! I didn’t need my shower shoes. We dumped our stuff on the floor and turned on the TV and took naps. When we all had awoken from our slumber, we were hungry again so we venture outside and tried to find a place to eat. Our hotel was on the southern outskirts of Dublin, so we had to walk a half mile to the nearest restaurant. And guess what we found? TGIFriday’s. An American restaurant. Of course we ate there. And it was delicious. I got wings, steak, and a brownie with ice cream. Let’s just say I had a food baby the rest of the night. But it was well worth it. After we wiped the crumbs from our shirts, we went back to the hotel and just hung out the rest of the night. It seems that wherever we stay, hostel or hotel, there is always a pub or nightclub by us. So we heard dance music and shouting until the bars closed. I was too tired to care though. In the morning, I slept in until 9 and then went downstairs for the free continental breakfast. Again, we ditched our itinerary and just went wherever we felt. First on our agenda was to take the Vikings Tour. The Vikings Tour is a duck tour so it goes on land and water. Plus we got to wear Vikings hats so the tour was awesome and our guide was hilarious. He taught us how to yell like a Viking. First, put both of your fists in the air, then make an ugly face, and finally, roar as loud as you can. We did this throughout the tour to random people on the street or as we called them, Celts. After the roaring, we went to Trinity College and saw the Book of Kells. It is a 1,200 year old book. Not exactly exciting to see, but at least I can say that I saw it. Then we found the pub where our meal voucher was, so we went and ate at O’Neils, and it was delicious. I got the ham and turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy, carrots, broccoli, and chocolate cake for dessert. Yum. One thing was missing, a delicious beverage. So we went to the Jameson Distillery. The tour was really informative and we got a drink at the end so it was worth the money. After the tour we meandered towards our hotel and stopped along the way to a few different stores to get our shop on. When we got back to our hotel, we ordered pizza and played some card games where Britney and I dominated thanks to Beyonce;) After we pwned, I showered and hit the hay. In the morning, we ate our breakfast and decided where we wanted to go for the day. All our our backpacks had gotten much heavier so the thought of walking around with them all day was not appealing. Luckily, the front desk lady was nice enough to let us leave them behind the desk with her. So Courtnee, Britney, and I went to the Guinness Storehouse and the Kilmainham Jail. Mal wanted to go to the zoo. The rest of us not so much; if you’ve seen one, you’ve kind of seen them all. We didn’t tour the Storehouse since we didn’t have enough time but the jail was really interesting. But I gotta say, I was very sick of walking. My feet hurt and I was getting sleepy. So we met up with Mal and went to the Temple Bar and then ate before we had to walk back to collect our backpacks. I got the Beef and Guinness Pie and it was  delicious. If you haven’t caught on by now, food is the most important thing when I travel haha! Which is why I am ecstatic to be going to Italy on Thursday. But after the meal, we gathered our bags and headed to the bus station. The bus ride home was miserable. I swear the driver was trying to sweat us out. The heat was on the entire time and it was blowing out hot air. A bus full of people and heat do not mix. The smell was not pleasant. Not to mention, there were 3 children on the bus. I was thankful to get home and out in the fresh air.

About clarson1

I am a student at the University of North Dakota studying Political Science, Public Administration, and International Studies. It's hard to believe, but I am already a senior! Everyone asks me what I want to do with my degree but I am still deciding that myself; maybe grad school or law school, or maybe I'll just stay in Ireland forever. I love to play sports especially tennis, pickleball, and frisbee. Anytime the weather is nice, you will find me outside soaking up some Vitamin D reading a book or chilling with my roomies. When the weather doesn't cooperate, you can find me playing Just Dance on the Wii or baking or watching movies. I am a pretty chill girl but I love to try new things. So, Ireland...here I come!

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

