Where’s the ATM?

Apparently I was destined to not use my credit card this weekend and only cash. At 7:30 on  Saturday morning, Mal and I waited patiently at the bus stop. Buses are supposed to come every 15 minutes according to the schedule. But I have learned that the Irish don’t exactly follow them very well. At 7:55 the bus came and we were on  our merry way, only to realize that we were on the cheap bus which is beneficial in the sense that is costs 40 cents cheaper, but detrimental to traveling plans because it takes a much longer route. Our bus left at 8:35 and we still needed to purchase our tickets. We finally got dropped off a few blocks away from the station and then we power walked to make it. Let’s just say the entire weekend we were the prime examples of tourists with our maps, tennis shoes, and backpacks:) As I attempted to purchase our tickets, the machine decided that it didn’t want to read my card; luckily I withdrew cash the night before in case anything like this were to happen. Finally, we had a 3 hour bus ride to catch up on sleep, or gossip in our case. The day started off raining, of course, but as we were driving the sun started to shine, we even saw a rainbow which I thought was going to bring us good luck. My premonition might have been a tish inaccurate. There was a changeover in Tralee but we made it to Killarney before noon. Our first mission was to find the bike shop so we could rent bikes and soar our way through the National Park. Apparently we walked right by on our way to find it. Don’t know how we missed it, but I’m not surprised. We got our bikes and bells and headed for the park, only to be walking after 3 minutes. Uphill is not my strong suit when it comes to biking. But we got better as the day went on. We biked through the east and southern parts of the park. We biked to Ross Castle, Knockreer House, Muckross House and Gardens, and then the Torc Waterfall. The waterfall was by far my favorite destination, but the entire park was beautiful with it’s autumn colors, lakes, and mountains in the background. But the afternoon would not go completely unscathed. On our way back to the bike shop, it started to rain. I was in my own little world focusing on not falling over and trying to dodge the raindrops, which didn’t work, when I looked back and Mal is not there anymore. So I stop and look down the road and see her walking her bike towards me. At first I thought she was tired but then she is walking with a limp. Uh oh. Apparently the guy that moved out of the way for me decided to not move for Mal, so she ended up falling off of her bike and cutting her knee and hip. This ended our biking adventures for the day. We slowly made our way into town and returned the bikes, thank goodness. My butt could not handle one more minute on that bike seat. We found a cozy restaurant and ordered our food and just sat there. Not a whole lot of talking happened since we were both exhausted. After some grub, we found our hostel. This was my first hostel stay of the trip. And let’s just say I don’t want to do it again. We check in and the guy is very welcoming. I reserved a 4 bedroom room so there was a chance that there would be 2 other randoms sleeping in our room that night. Well, we found our room: 2 bunkbeds, a mirror, and a folding chair. My bed had a comforter, no sheets, and the pillow was practically nonexistent. The heat didn’t work and the curtains wouldn’t close all the way. We were in for a long night lol! On a positive note, the showers were really hot. Mal and I showered up and we were sleeping by 9. It may sound pathetic but it was a long day. I ended up stealing the comforter from the other bed because I was so cold. I slept in sweatpants, a t-shirt, long-sleeve shirt, and a sweatshirt. Let’s say it was a long night. Plus it was daylight savings times so we gained an hour of sleep which meant I had to lay in bed and stare at the ceiling for another hour. Breakfast consisted of make it yourself toast which was then followed by do you own dishes. I wanted to check out as soon as possible so we ended up finding a SPAR and then sitting on a bench for an hour while we waited for the Ring of Kerry tour to leave. I had to find an ATM because the tour company didn’t accept cards. For the day, we did the Ring of Kerry tour so we went through Glenbeigh, Waterville, and Sneem and the national park again. When we stopped for lunch, I got the Irish stew which was delicious because it was misting and foggy all day. But yet again, I needed to find an ATM since the pub didn’t accept cards. Now I know to bring more cash with me to start off with. The tour lasted until 5 where we waited for our 6 o’clock bus to take us back home. The ride was 2.5 hours longs and I didn’t sleep a wink. But I finally made it home and I never thought that I would excited to sleep in my own bed. I can literally feel every spring in the mattress and that is an improvement from the mattress in the hostel.

 

Now it’s Halloween, raining of course, but it’s going to be a fun night:)

About clarson1

I am a student at the University of North Dakota studying Political Science, Public Administration, and International Studies. It's hard to believe, but I am already a senior! Everyone asks me what I want to do with my degree but I am still deciding that myself; maybe grad school or law school, or maybe I'll just stay in Ireland forever. I love to play sports especially tennis, pickleball, and frisbee. Anytime the weather is nice, you will find me outside soaking up some Vitamin D reading a book or chilling with my roomies. When the weather doesn't cooperate, you can find me playing Just Dance on the Wii or baking or watching movies. I am a pretty chill girl but I love to try new things. So, Ireland...here I come!

Posted on October 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

