Nom nom nom!

I believe I have gone to the grocery store everyday since I have been here. Currently we have 1 mini freezer and 1 working mini fridge. Have you ever tried to fit the food of 8 people in 1 mini fridge? I don’t think so. At home I share a normal sized fridge with 2 other girls and we manage to still fill it up. Hopefully, the maintenance man comes with new parts or a new fridge soon. The main reason that the fridges are so small has to do with the food. Here in Ireland, food expires a lot quicker than back home because they use a lot less preservatives in their food. So a jar of spaghetti sauce has to be used within 48 hours after refrigeration because it will spoil. Whereas back in the states, you can keep it in your fridge for months and not think twice about it. This means that I am either going to Spar (a convenience type store) or Dunnes (like a Target with clothes and food). This also means that my eating habits are going to crap. Why you ask? Because the chocolate here is SO delicious! Milka and Dairy Milk bars are to die for. Just thinking about them makes my mouth water. Good thing I always keep on me haha! But this all the walking I do, I don’t feel quite as guilty eating them.

So today us girls went to downtown Limerick to go to the immigration office. I can now officially stay in the country until December 31, 2011. Yay me! Afterwards, we managed to find a diner like restaurant where they served burgers and fries. Typical Americans;)

About clarson1

I am a student at the University of North Dakota studying Political Science, Public Administration, and International Studies. It's hard to believe, but I am already a senior! Everyone asks me what I want to do with my degree but I am still deciding that myself; maybe grad school or law school, or maybe I'll just stay in Ireland forever. I love to play sports especially tennis, pickleball, and frisbee. Anytime the weather is nice, you will find me outside soaking up some Vitamin D reading a book or chilling with my roomies. When the weather doesn't cooperate, you can find me playing Just Dance on the Wii or baking or watching movies. I am a pretty chill girl but I love to try new things. So, Ireland...here I come!

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

