Irish to English Dictionary

In Limerick, I find myself saying “Huh?” or “What?” to a lot of the things that Irish people are trying to say to me. So I have created an Irish to English dictionary to help myself out a bit.

Queries = Questions

Half 11 = Eleven thirty (a lot of Irish cannot say their “th” so it comes out as a ‘t’ or ‘d’)

Module = Class

Timetable = Schedule

Sachet = Packet

Crisps = Chips

Chips = Fries

Fries = Nothing

Kitchen sacks = Garbage bags

Shifting = Making out

Ye = You

Rubbish = Garbage

Lads = Friends

Grande = Good

Solicitor = Lawyer

Tick = Check mark

About clarson1

I am a student at the University of North Dakota studying Political Science, Public Administration, and International Studies. It's hard to believe, but I am already a senior! Everyone asks me what I want to do with my degree but I am still deciding that myself; maybe grad school or law school, or maybe I'll just stay in Ireland forever. I love to play sports especially tennis, pickleball, and frisbee. Anytime the weather is nice, you will find me outside soaking up some Vitamin D reading a book or chilling with my roomies. When the weather doesn't cooperate, you can find me playing Just Dance on the Wii or baking or watching movies. I am a pretty chill girl but I love to try new things. So, Ireland...here I come!

Posted on September 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

