I’m Finally Here!

Bonjour readers! I have finally arrived in the lovely city of Limerick. My parents sent me off on Monday morning and from there I went to Chicago, then Newark, and finally Shannon. The first plane ride was a bit lonely since it was the first time traveling alone. Fortunately, on my second flight from Chicago I met two awesome people, Kim and Zach, who were going to the University of Limerick too! I tagged along and got to learn about them and their school. While boarding our last flight, there were about 25 other students going to UL as well. We took over that plane. That’s where I met a large majority of the AIFS students. On the plane I sat next to an Irish woman and a English student both traveling home. They were super friendly and gave me some good advice. Unfortunately, the plane was impossible to sleep on. They served us food an hour into the flight, beverages an hour later, breakfast two hours later, and by then we were on our descent. Good timing huh. Once we made it to the airport all of us students had to wait like an hour to go through customs. My number one fear after crashing and not being let into the country was my luggage being love. Crisis averted! Both of my suitcases were present and undamaged. Slightly worn and dirty but who cares! Thankfully there were two strong Irish men to haul our luggage into the truck while we laid back and took a coach to the school. I gotta say, my roomies are going to be awesome! There is Kendall from California, Stan from Hong Kong, Jim from France, and 3 mysterious Irish students who will be arriving shortly. There are a lot of accents under one roof but it will be super fun! Jim is cook us a French supper and then we are going out to the pub for a pint:) Hopefully, I catch on to their sayings, because I learned a band-aid is called a plaster. Hmm…I didn’t sound stupid or anything.

About clarson1

I am a student at the University of North Dakota studying Political Science, Public Administration, and International Studies. It's hard to believe, but I am already a senior! Everyone asks me what I want to do with my degree but I am still deciding that myself; maybe grad school or law school, or maybe I'll just stay in Ireland forever. I love to play sports especially tennis, pickleball, and frisbee. Anytime the weather is nice, you will find me outside soaking up some Vitamin D reading a book or chilling with my roomies. When the weather doesn't cooperate, you can find me playing Just Dance on the Wii or baking or watching movies. I am a pretty chill girl but I love to try new things. So, Ireland...here I come!

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Just talked to your Mom and she told me of your website, so I just checked it out…AWESOME. Sounds like you may have some wonderful French cuisine during the next few weeks. How fun for you to have such an opportunity…enjoy the “pints” in the pubs, too.

  2. Hi Clare – I’m looking forward to following your adventure. Get used to all kinds of different words – jumper, crisp, boot, lift, articulated lorry, biscuit…. Maybe this web site will help translate http://www.englishclub.com/vocabulary/british-american.htm

Leave a Reply

